Grilled Pork Loin


The grocery store had this can’t-fit-on-any-of-my-servingware pork loin for $14 the other week (marked down from $37!) so I had to buy it.  Being that it was so large, I pretty much had no other choice than to cook it on the grill.

To the dry rub machine!  Kosher Salt, Black Pepper, Brown Sugar, Garlic Powder, Cumin, Paprika, New Mexico Chili Powder, Ancho Chili Powder, Cayenne, and Mexican Oregano.  I wrapped that up and let it rest in the fridge for about 6 hours.  Then I washed it all off in the sink.  I debated washing it off in the tub because it didn’t fit in the sink but… no.  Then another dry rub of Kosher Salt, Granulated Sugar, and Ancho Chili Powder while the charcoal was getting hot to trot.  This is where photos 1 and 2 come in.

Meanwhile, I made a barbecue sauce with Onions, Garlic, Salt, Pepper, Green Thai Chili Peppers, Paprika, Cayenne Pepper, Asian Five Spice, Brown Sugar, Crushed Tomatoes, Apple Cider Vinegar, Cognac, Molasses, and Honey.  I really wanted to taste the dry rub too so I only put this on half the loin.

Even though it was overcooked (taken off the grill at 170°, oops!) it was still quite moist and delicious.  The dry rub was too awesome for even this holy loin of pork so I need to get a couple racks of ribs to smoke next time.  The sauce was good but it wasn’t the right combo for this dry rub and pork.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

